First week in America - Reisverslag uit Bellaire, Verenigde Staten van Maarten Spaargaren - WaarBenJij.nu First week in America - Reisverslag uit Bellaire, Verenigde Staten van Maarten Spaargaren - WaarBenJij.nu

First week in America

Door: Maarten Spaargaren

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Maarten

30 Augustus 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Bellaire

I'm going to write from now on in English to speed up my English development. So for the people who can't read English, unfortunately peanut butter. - or use google translate -

In the morning I went with Tim to the supermarket and in the afternoon I had an appointment to lunch with my coordinator, Emory Glover. After lunch we went to his room to have a orientation about the rules I have to follow this year. Just really basic rules. So we were pretty fast finished with that conversation.
When I came home Tim brought us to the office where Tim and Doug and the crew works. I met there the team of Actioncoach. They were all really nice.

Next morning I woke up early (6:15) because today I went with Doug to a business networking event which began at 7:15. On that event there were several business people who introduced themselves and explained in which business they were in and what is was all about to promote their business and make more connections. After the business interacting event was finished Doug brought me to the office and Tim picked me up and went to home. In the afternoon Tim and me went to another political event, where several representatives of Houston gave a speech about their opinions and their statements about the law. I couldn't understand everything.

But over all it was again very interesting to be at this event, because I learned something about how the government is working in Houston and talked to some guys who explained to me how their business works. All sounded interesting. Back from the event we went to the supermarket and back of the supermarket we had a car accident. We were standing still on a parking road and a truck drove backwards and didn't saw us and hit us, but nobody got hurt.
In the evening right before dinner we always pick a card out of a box and on that card is written down an inspirational quote and while having dinner we tell each other our low of the day and the high. That was very exciting.

Talked with Tim a lot today and had really good conversations.

Wednesday, the 26th of August, I talked with my mom in the morning and it was good to hear her voice and told her about my experiences so far. Then I registered at school but that took a while. There was almost no waiting line but we had to wait for 2 hours before I could go to the classroom. But after a while, I could finally go to my first class this year. So I said Tim goodbye at school and went to my first classroom but I stepped into the wrong classroom! I didn't know that so farand even the teacher didn't recognized it either. So after the period was finished someone waited for me and told me about the school and lunched with her and her friends. After that I had history, the teacher was very good. I can't even describe it. One of the best teachers so far. Tim told me afterwards that he is the number one history teacher in the USA. Then I got business law and as last I had soccer class in a classroom where some information had been told about the coming season. Met there also some people. After classes I picked up my school ID and the books I needed for classes. Needed actually one book. I thought I needed some more.

Tim picked me up and we went home. After dinner we went to the academic store to buy soccer shoes but while fitting some shoes, surprisingly a mother and a young girl around my age started to talk to me and that overwhelmed me a bit, because I never experienced that before. They were really curious about me and the mother gave the advice to exchange info and so the girl and I talked to each other and found out that she is also playing field hockey. So we exchanged some info and said goodbye. After I've bought shoes with Tim we went to Bellaire ER medical center to get my Physical that would give me the permission to play soccer in a team, but I didn't pass the test because of my left eye that isn't working well. But that sounds complete nonsense to me. So I have to go to another doctor to get my Physical done.

The other day I rode the first time on my bicycle to high school this morning and had my first guitar class today and I really liked it. I had so much fun and it is one of my favorite classes at school now. Lunched with the guys who I met at the soccer class yesterday and there were lots of people, like 15 or something. They were all really interesting in me and had a great lunch. I Will see them probably again tomorrow.

In the evening Emory gives his birthday party and he picked me up and everybody should brought a good story or something other valuable. So I played there piano for him and told him about the cultures in Holland and brought a typically Dutch candy with me , syrupwafels, and a book with typically Dutch pictures.

I had a great day and hopefully I will get my physical in the morning at the nurse in school.

Today is the last day of school of the week. Guitar class was awesome again. I also met new people but I did not get my physical because I have to fill in a form and give it to the nurse again. In the evening I went with Tim and Doug to my first American football game and I had a great time on the tribune!

In the weekend Tim Doug and me went to Texas BBQ for lunch and after that we went to the zoo and had dinner. Trough the day we drove in Dougs car, which is a tesla. It was amazing to drive in that car. But besides all the nice things I did in the weekend I had to do also some homework and going to a church to listen to a classical orchestra. But after homework we could do other things. For example playing chess against Doug. Sunday evening some friends from Tim and Doug came over and had a great first weekend. My English skills are probably already developing.

Pictures in the making

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Maarten

Student uit Nederland

Actief sinds 25 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 221
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4281

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2015 - 06 Juni 2016

Journey to America

Landen bezocht: